East and West All-Star Reserves Revealed

The NBA has announced the Eastern and Western Conference All-Star reserves, as selected by the league’s coaches.                                                                                                                                                                              


Completing the Western Conference All-Star team will be Houston Rockets’ pair Dwight Howard and James Harden, Los Angeles Clippers’ point guard Chris Paul, Portland Trailblazers duo LaMarcus Aldridge and Damian Lillard, San Antonio Spurs’ guard Tony Parker, and Dallas Mavericks’ forward Dirk Nowitzki.

For the Eastern Conference, rounding out their team is Miami Heat forward Chris Bosh, Washington Wizards’ guard John Wall, Toronto Raptors’ guard DeMar DeRozan, Atlanta Hawks’ forward Paul Millsap, Indiana Pacers’ centre Roy Hibbert, Brooklyn Nets’ guard Joe Johnson, and Joakim Noah of the Chicago Bulls.

The reserves are selected by the leagues 30 head coaches, who must nominate two backcourt players, three front court players and two “wiildcard” selections, who can play any position, from within their own conference.

Coaches can not vote for players on their own team.

The 14 players selected will be joining the starters for each Conference who were selected via fan vote.

This years’ game will see four players pull on an All-Star uniform for the first time, with Lillard, Wall, DeRozan and Millsap being selected to the teams for the first time in their career.

Of this year’s reserves, Nowitzki is the most celebrated, earning his 12th selection. While Bosh (nine), Howard (eight), Paul (seven), Johnson (seven), Parker (six), Aldridge (three), and Harden, Hibbert and Noah (two each) have also made multiple All-Star teams.

Some of the biggest All-Star snubs include: Anthony Davis (New Orleans Pelicans), Goran Dragic (Phoenix Suns), DeMarcus Cousins (Sacramento Kings), Kyle Lowry (Toronto Raptors), Arron Afflalo (Orlando Magic), Lance Stephenson (Indiana Pacers), Ty Lawson (Denver Nuggets), Mike Conley (Memphis Grizzlies) and Russell Westbrook (Oklahoma City Thunder).

While the selection of Johnson has caused the biggest stir amongst fans.

However, those who missed out on the coaches’ votes in the Western Conference still have a chance for selection after Kobe Bryant was ruled out of competing in the showcase due to injury.

A replacement for Bryant will be selected by the league.


7 thoughts on “East and West All-Star Reserves Revealed

  1. Pingback: NBA Three-Point Shootout Participants Revealed | BALL SO HARD

  2. Pingback: NBA Skills Challenge Competitors Revealed | BALL SO HARD

  3. Pingback: NBA Announces Injury Replacements for All-Star Weekend | BALL SO HARD

  4. Pingback: NBA Announces Injury Replacements for All-Star Weekend | Fiasco Sports

  5. Pingback: Joakim Noah voted 2013-14 Defensive Player of the Year | BALL SO HARD

  6. Pingback: Joakim Noah voted 2013-14 Defensive Player of the Year | Fiasco Sports

  7. Pingback: A Season In Review: The Atlanta Hawks | BALL SO HARD

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s